Help in printer/display calibration

filipep

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Good afternoon
I need help processing and printing photos.
My hardware is:
• Macbook Pro 13 "Intel Core 2 Duo with 4GB Ram 2:53 and running MacOSX 10.6.6
• Wacom Cintiq 21UX
• Canon Pixma iP4850.
I treatment of images in Adobe Lightroom 3; CINTIQ my main monitor, when I compare with the MACBOOK, the images are clearer in this and the printing is always similar to that presented by the MACBOOK. The most obvious option would be using it as primary monitor and guide me through it. But as I have the CINTIQ want to take advantage of it.
So, I ask:
• If someone uses the same hardware, what is the best configuration in terms of monitor calibration?
• What is the best choice of monitor and printer calibrator?

Thanks

You've had a lot of views but no replies, so I'll chime in, though I'm not an expert. The first thing to understand is that no printer can perfectly mimic what you see on your monitor, because the color methodology is different for each. The best you can do is a close approximation.

I've got a rig pretty similar to yours, except that my accessory monitor is a 21" Lenovo and my printer is an Epson 3880. If I follow the software calibration routine available under Apple/System Preferences/Displays, I get a pretty fair approximation of what comes out of my printer. Use the Expert Mode and follow the menus, using a gamma of 2.2 and a target white point of D65. Beyond that, make sure Edit/Color Settings is set to "Always Optimize for Printing". However, if I follow the exact same routine with my accessory monitor, I don't get acceptable results, so I've stopped using the monitor.