Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi

i am shooting images for the last 2 years i own a 40D and a 50D
580ex flash
canon 24-105 L lense
i only didn untill now outdoor or non formal indoor
now i am trying to set up a studio indoor in my house to shoot formal shots of my wife and kids

so for satrter i bought the Imact EX100 kit and for the life of me i canot figure it out i feel i am where i was 2 years ago

wither the images are over exposed or under exposed cant get the perfect shot

i set up 1 light using the soft box and 1 light with the unbrella

can anyone give me an idea where to start in order to get rolling and what are the basic rulls

I feel your pain, I am just getting started with portraits as well.
Here is a website that will help you get going. There are many, many more resources available and lots of great people on this forum.
Post a picture on the forum you have taken, explain your light set up and ask how to improve the lighting.

Welcome to the forum!

Foundations of Lighting Placement

Than you very much for the link!
My question are more
How far from the subject to I put the light?
What's my best bet for the camera settings?
Where do I stand with the camera? same postion like light ? Behind the light? in fron of light?
What type of light do I use?
Just the flash? Or also model?
Softbox?
Unbrella?
Or direct?

Meanwhile I don't even get a shot that looks have normal

I feel your pain....There is a website, mine, that may help with this...it's free and non commercial. We set this up to share ideas with the photo community....have a look and I hope it helps!!!!

nice blog where do you talk about lighting?