Help please - total rookie here with hopefully not too dumb questions

yankeefan1234

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I apolgize up front. I know nothing about cameras, but need to learn something rather quickly. My nephew is 14 and is asking for a camera to video his puppets. He is a total novice too but saw something on youtube and now wants a camera. He's asking about a Canon EOS R 50. I am willing to buy him a used one and if he stays with it, I'll go new. Here is my problem. I see cameras that say mirrorless and cameras that say camera body only. (Sorry if I'm mixing apples with oranges.) If I buy him a camera body, will be be able to video? Do I need to buy anything in addition to the camera body for the camera to be functional? I apologize again if I sound stupid. I am apparently when it comes to understanding cameras. Thanks for any help you can give me.

I am trying to stay as economical as possible, so if I do need anything additional, please suggest the least expensive fix. Thank you!

that's a bit pricy for a first camera. unless you're set on canon. i'd look at a used nikon d3200. with a kit lens. takes pretty good video, and the 18-55 lens is ok too. a tripod you can pick up a local store. can pick this up for around $300 or less if you shop around. (ebay, market place) just my two cents.

that's a bit pricy for a first camera. unless you're set on canon. i'd look at a used nikon d3200. with a kit lens. takes pretty good video, and the 18-55 lens is ok too. a tripod you can pick up a local store. can pick this up for around $300 or less if you shop around. (ebay, market place) just my two cents.
Thank you! I'll check that out.

Think of it like two parts to a camera, body and lens. "Body only" means you'll still need to buy a lens.

Mirrorless is a type of camera body, as is DSLR. DSLRs have a mirror inside that flips up when you take a picture.

All the camera bodies have certain lenses that are compatible with them.