Help to buy an all-around kamera

stened91

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi i have been shooting for many years now and when i shoot i mostly shoot people, street, vacation and so on. Some sports but not much.

So i want a "Street camera" that i can take with me everyday.

i have looked at the:

Fuji x100
Fuji x pro 1
Oly EM5
Leica m8

And i am only going to use 1 lens

what do you guys think? i dont have to use alot of money.. but i really dont have any budget. What is the most fun, easy camera that gives very good IQ

Last edited:
Well, there are three of a kind in that list.....

Three that have AF . One that does not....

I would eliminate that one to reduce the list.

The remaining three are in different price ranges in terms of cost of optics. Figure that one out and you have your choice.

I shoot with a Leica M8, M9, and OMD E-M5. If I were to choose 1 lens kit that I would have fun with for a weekend trip, it would be the M9 with 50mm f/1.4 Summilux. But I stress that that is My Personal preference that may or may not be widely shared. Second choice would probably me the OMD.

If you want one lens only, and happy for that to be 35mm equivalent (sounds from what you shoot that that is enough) then I would say X100 hands down.

You want more versatility then EM5.

You want best picture quality, then X-Pro1.

Money no object M9.

For me, bang for buck would be X100, but then I am biased.

Horses for courses....

If you don't have a lot of money, WTF are you looking at a Leica for?

How about the Canon EOS 60D...it's a pretty sweet camera with a very good 18 MP sensor and LOADS of features! Or the Nikon D7000...same...nice sensor, lotsa' features, reasonable price...

Thx for the input.. Derrel.. well.. both thoes are HUGE.

And guys. I have the OMD-EM5 with 12-50, 45mm and the 12mm. but its abit clunky.