HELP! Trouble with slow shutter speed in afternoon daylight!

smackitsakic

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Greetings!

I am still quite new to photography (had my first DSLR for just over a month now) and wanted to take some pictures of some massive windmills near my city of residence.

My wife and I made the 20 minute journey to the windmills. My intention was to capture these windmills using a slow shutter speed to give a motion effect for the windmills with a still background.

Anyway, I slowed down the shutter speed to 2 seconds, set the aperture to f-32 and the ISO to 100, the biggest settings my equipment could handle. The images came out incredibly over-exposed, to the point where the images were white and nothing but white. The only thing I could do to have the images correctly exposed was accelerate the shutter speed, which defeated the purpose of me trying to shoot these windmills in motion.

What did I do wrong and what I can do differently next time? Any help for this new photographer would be greatly appreciated!!

unless the wind mills are going super slow I would defiantly speed up your shutter speed. I will limit the amount of motion but 2 sec of a good moving wind mill is quite a bit of movement and less time will defiantly capture what you are looking for.

Greetings!

I am still quite new to photography (had my first DSLR for just over a month now) and wanted to take some pictures of some massive windmills near my city of residence.

My wife and I made the 20 minute journey to the windmills. My intention was to capture these windmills using a slow shutter speed to give a motion effect for the windmills with a still background.