Help with d40 ISO

Gregoryniss

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey everyone. I'm a new photographer and i just got a Nikon d40 kit last week. So far i'm really liking the camera. so heres my problem...

My dad has an old Sunpak auto 114 PC flash, and i've been using it on my Nikon. While it syncs with the camera, the camera can't detect that the flash is there, so it's boosting the ISO to 1600. I haven't' found a way to lower the ISO, and i'm not sure if you even can. I'm using Manual mode, and it says "Auto-ISO", but in the menu I have it set on ISO 200.

Can anyone help me out? I really can't afford buying a flash since i'm broke from buying the camera haha. Let's hope someone on here can help me!

Thank you,

Greg

You just have to turn off auto-ISO. Look in your manual, I'm sure there is some kind of instruction on how to do it.

... thanks haha. I had to enable the "full" menu, that's why i was missing it before. Thanks a lot!

Greg

PS Sorry for the stupid thread haha. Mods can delete if they want

I for one don't think this was a stupid thread. You don't want to know how long I went without realizing I could turn off auto ISO or set auto ISO to not go above 800 etc. Very useful features; i just wish we didn't have to go menu diving so much on the D40 :er:.

There's an option to enable the "full" menu on the D40?

Wow. That's just... wow.

There's an option to enable the "full" menu on the D40?

Wow. That's just... wow.