help with macro and glass

kenzee

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi..as you can see, I'm brand new here. I'm not a photographer, I'm a glass artist. I'm trying to improve my macro photography skills since I make handmade glass beads and need to represent myself online with really great photos.
Right now I have a digital Fujifilm S1000~ I set up a small frame for 2 clip on lights (75 watt daylight bulbs with velum paper taped over the fixtures) and one overhead desk lamp
I've tried different settings but usually come back to one of the settings which is natural light with F2.8
I use photoshop..levels to change the white balance and the unsharp mask to crisp the lines. I do need to play with the saturation at times if the color is not true.
I don't have a budget to change much of that so I have to learn to work with what I have.
I don't feel these are horrid but I'm not real happy with the clarity/crispness or the color..and I don't like to have to push the saturation to get a truer color in one area because this leaves another area looking too bright. As in the bottom pic.

a couple of examples:

jan7seta.jpg

and one more:
againjan31br.jpg

This one I had to use photoshop to get the true color of the blue beads which then messed with other aspects of the bracelet, such as the clasp, and some of the metal componants.

I'd really appreciate any suggestions anyone may have. Please keep in mind that I'm not able to upgrade my camera right now.

Hi, welcome. First of all I love the glass pieces! especially the first. I have not done much of this type of photography, very little, but here's what I think anyway, hope it helps.

The main point of product photography is to focus all attention on the item, and nothing else. To that end, I think they would look better if you used a background without any texture. It kind of distracts from the art.