Help with noise. Shooting in low light

Discussion in 'Nikon Cameras' started by sk8ting, Mar 29, 2012.

1. sk8ting

sk8ting TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I am just starting out with this whole photography thing. I was taking some pictures of my friends band in his studio/basement, the lighting was weird, darker but they had LED lights on the ceiling as well as very dim incandescent lighting. I had the ISO set to different levels to experiment with getting rid of the noise, without using a flash. I was using the flash because I could not figure how to get a sharp, clear image without it. What should I do to get those images sharp and clear without the flash??
    1. $Basement.jpg I

2. $Basement2.jpg

3. $Jake face.jpg

2. Aloicious

Aloicious No longer a newbie, moving up!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    what camera and lenses are you using?

its rough to determine noise and stuff on downsized images, try posting some 100% crop area so we can better see what kind of noise you're dealing with.

3. sk8ting

sk8ting TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    As of now I have a D5100 with the 18-55. But I have ordered a sigma 10-20 and a Nikon 55-300.

4. LuckySe7en

LuckySe7en TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    It's going to be tough to get sharp images in that light environment w/out flash. Unless you can crank the hell out of your iso and keep a useable image.

5. Aloicious

Photos NOT OK to edit
    all those lenses are pretty slow, the 5100 is a decent body but, like luckyse7en mentioned it'll be hard to get sharp shots in that lighting at all, especially with slow lenses. but there are some things you can do that will help

in order to keep noise down, you'll want to shoot at the lowest ISO possible, which also means that shutter speed will need to go up, and/or use larger apatures. and with longer shutter speeds, you'll get much more camera shake, and motion blur...