Help with snow picture

OregonAmy

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
picasaweb.google.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I took a bunch of pictures on snow day and I really like this shot, but I feel like it needs help. I'm a total beginner, so I'd appreciate any tips. (I'm using a panasonic dmc-fz10, btw)

What I feel is wrong with this pic..

- snow is overexposed, but when I fiddle with contrast/brightness in gimp, it doesn't fix it. Was my shutter speed too high? What would have been a good aperture setting? I had the ISO setting on Auto and wasn't changing my aperture.

- too much sky? Cropping it seems to make it worse, though

- overall "grayness" of the photo. Is the contrast in the picture strong enough? I used my camera's b/w setting, rather than taking the pic in color & converting at home. I don't care for photo edit software; I'd rather rely on my skill than on software to compose a great shot. But was that the right choice?

so... help!

SnowDay014.jpg

Your photo isn't that far off in it's exposure. A bit on the bright side. I'd suggest you try bracketing when you shoot. Go up and down a few steps if you camera allows it. If not, look at your cameras choice of shutter, F stop and iso in auto then switch it to manual using those settings as a starting point and experiment a little with each setting. Half of the art of photography is using the camera. The other half is the darkroom (I.E. Ansel Adams). Editing software is just a more technological replacement for the darkroom. For black and white on film, you would use filters for various dramatic effects. with digital, you do it with the software. Good Luck!

My check up list for winterphotography:

1. Don`t let the camera have to be cold. Wear it between your "work" under your clods our in a camerabag.

2. The same for your reserve-battery.

3. Correct the insolation 1-2 gread up. Check every picture after you have taken it.