Hi! I'm a noob! And I need to improve!

tomazws

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi! I'm new into this whole photography stuff. Yesterday, I went to my friend's house and took some pics with the dog. And only 6 came out decent:

04/23/09 ~ JJ Photoshoot - a set on Flickr

One of my friends said they're a bit soft and needed to be sharpened a bit in PS. I would also like to know what you guys think! Thank you!

All 6 photos are taken with an unzoomable f1.8 50mm.

the first one would be absolutely adorable (it still is) if you were more level to the dog, instead of shooting downward.

Hi! I'm new into this whole photography stuff. Yesterday, I went to my friend's house and took some pics with the dog. And only 6 came out decent:

04/23/09 ~ JJ Photoshoot - a set on Flickr

One of my friends said they're a bit soft and needed to be sharpened a bit in PS. I would also like to know what you guys think! Thank you!

All 6 photos are taken with an unzoomable f1.8 50mm.
That is what is called a prime lens. It took years and years for some zoom lenses to reach the image quality of prime lenses. Most zooms still don't.

Actually, you can zoom a 50 mm f/1.8. You do it with your feet.:lol:

Most times an image is most interesting taken at the same level as the subjects eyes. So animals and kids you have to get the lens down where they are or slightly lower.

Don't forget that camera to subject distance also effects DOF.

I agree, they could be a little sharper. But nice work, #5 is my favorite. I would've tried a more intresting background.

Hi! I'm a noob! And I need to improve!

Hi! I've been at it for 25 years, and I always need to improve.....