How are my portrait skills?

asheeants

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
So I'm pretty new to photography, only been shooting seriously for about a year now. I think I have a good eye but still have a lot to learn for sure! Here are a couple photos I took of my children. Any C&C would be appreciated. :)

This first one is my daughter Jillian. Caught her in the adorable little pose, and I think it came out pretty well. I set my camera on "a priority", I find myself using this mode most of the time. I just set it at 4.5 and shot using no flash, because of how much sun was coming through the window. I shot this at about 2 in the afternoon. I see it's a bit over exposed esp in the top portion of the photo. Any suggestions on how I could do this better?
1. http://i322.photobucket.com/albums/nn434/asheeant
/DSC_0226.jpg

This photo is my son Coleton. Again in "a priority" set at about 5.6 I believe. To me this just doesn't seem as sharp as it could be, and even with the use of a reflector his face doesn't seem to be filled out enough. I'm very new to photo shop so I'm sure there's a way to fix this but I haven't got that far yet. hah Other than that I really like the photo, but again how could I do it better?
DSC_0050.jpg

A friend of mine talked me into entering them both in the gap contest. These are the photos I used. If you think they are the least bit adorable you can vote at http://www.gapcastingcall.com/GapCastingCall /Gallery.html

Jillian is 694973 and Coleton is 695212.

DSC_0226.jpg

For some reason this didn't show up the first time.

C&C per req: