How does the incident Light meter really work

norris_watkins

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Im an advanced beginner and have been thinking of buying an incident light meter.
As per my understanding, it will measure the light falling on the subject and would suggest the correct exposure ( Aperture/speed )

But I thought different cameras differ in their sensors sensitivity ( some camera models needs little light whereas some needs a lot of light )
So without knowing the exact camera model, how can teh incident light meter advice on the exposure settings ?

Did I understand the whole thing wrong ?
--nw

All light meters work to a similar standard. In the film days, the industry standard was 18% grey - today it varies a bit, but when you get your meter do a series of test shots comparing the meter's readings to the exposure your see, and you can very quickly figure out what your adjustment factor is, or, with better meters, you can adjust the meter's calibration.

This is one of the main reasons behind having a standardized film / sensor sensitivity rating. It doesn't work perfectly, so it is always advisable to adjust the speed you set the meter to according to your experience after doing a few tests, as titled iron says.

This is one of the main reasons behind having a standardized film / sensor sensitivity rating. It doesn't work perfectly, so it is always advisable to adjust the speed you set the meter to according to your experience after doing a few tests, as titled iron says.

:lmao: :lmao: :lmao: :lmao:

His title is Sir John...Duke of Vancouver Island..and Protector of the Padlocks...
I think that's our moderator from across the pond.. but heck, in reality, I'll answer to 'most anything!

Im an advanced beginner and have been thinking of buying an incident light meter.
As per my understanding, it will measure the light falling on the subject and would suggest the correct exposure ( Aperture/speed )