How much to charge?

Sinister_kid

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Well, i'm going to start working a deal between a shop (car audio) and myself to take some pictures for their website. I'd be taking some of their buildings and some of the installers and employees in action.

I've already been asked how much i charge by the owner. Which is where i have no experience. How much would be a good rate? Should i go by hourly pay or a flat rate??

Need advice. Thanks!

I would actually charge a licensing fee. Say $50-200 an image (depending on how much you think you're worth) per image. If they really want to get their business out, and your pictures are of good quality, then they will pay it.

With this, give it a 6 month usage. After that time, they have to "renew" the usage.

Another way is to just sell them the picture for unlimited usage. More than likely, they wont use it more than a couple years, so charge accordingly. In the $100 an image range.

If you don't want to do this, then I would charge a "labor" rate plus whatever you want to sell your images at.

~Michael~

I would actually charge a licensing fee. Say $50-200 an image (depending on how much you think you're worth) per image. If they really want to get their business out, and your pictures are of good quality, then they will pay it.

With this, give it a 6 month usage. After that time, they have to "renew" the usage.

Another way is to just sell them the picture for unlimited usage. More than likely, they wont use it more than a couple years, so charge accordingly. In the $100 an image range.

If you don't want to do this, then I would charge a "labor" rate plus whatever you want to sell your images at.

~Michael~

I was actually thinking of the set charge per image. Then, Seeing as some of their shops are some distance away from my house, 1-2 hours drive time + ferry time, i would also charge fees for gas/ferry expenses. Or do you think that's to much?