Peeb

Semi-automatic Mediocrity Generator
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
The full frame camera bug has bitten.

Do I "NEED" one? No.
Will it make me a better photographer? No.
Will it make me happy? Why yes, I believe it would!

Currently have a Canon t3i with the following lenses:

18-55 'kit' lens EF-S
55-250 EF-S (with image stabilization)
60 EF-S 2.8 macro 'prime' lens

28 EF 1.8 prime lens
75-300 EF zoom

If I trade out the crop sensor T3i, I need to trade the EF-S lenses too, right? No go with these lenses in the FF format without trickery?

I assume the EF lenses stay workable, but the telephoto has no image stabilization, which I really would miss.

I'm a hobbyist that grew up shooting 35mm film, so it would feel right at home to get back to the full frame experience (no more 1.6x converting in my head!).

Canon 6D? Used 5D Mark ii?

Net of trade, can I get this done under a thousand?

EDIT- if putting ALL the gear on the trading block and starting fresh is the logical play- I'm not opposed to Nikon, in fact that was my drug of choice in the 70's! It's Ford/Chevy to me- no clear winner, just means to an end.

Buy an older, used camera.
EF-S lenses will not mount on EF camera bodies.

Nikon DX lenses will mount on FX bodies - D700, D3, D3s.

Buy an older, used camera.
EF-S lenses will not mount on EF camera bodies.

Nikon DX lenses will mount on FX bodies - D700, D3, D3s.
Yeah- I thought about a used D610. Nikon makes such a nice camera!

I have a t3i and just bought a 5d mki for $330. So far is a trade up. Just need better lenses than the 2 I have now.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-T337A using Tapatalk

Will it make you happy? No.
End of story.

P.S. If you, as you say, do not need it (just like 95% of amateurs out there) , if it will not make you a better photographer, then why do you think spending your hard earned money on a big heavy black box with several buttons and a big round hole will make you happy???