How to make the sky blue? Photoshop newb...

fug.li

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello,

I shot a few panoramas with my simple 35 mm lens and didn't use a polarizer thinking it would only cause problems while stitching them. But, now, while the sky retains the details, it is dirty white. :(

A quick search online lead me to a site using b&w red filter but that did not work well for me - it made the images look too saturated. I have lightroom and have access to photoshop cs3.

Any simple guides or pre-made filters out there that will just help me create a pleasant sky? I am completely new at photoshop.

The pictures I am talking about are the first four on my site below.

I would make a copy layer of the image, and then use curves and saturation to adjust the sky the way you want. Don't worry about what happens to the foreground. Then mask the darkened sky with the original foreground.

A big part of the issue is exposure. You have to consider that the landscape is several stops darker than the sky so you can't take a single exposure that will expose both areas well. With the sky over exposed like that, the color is washed out.

You could try using a grad or split filter to darken the sky and bring the two parts closer together. You could use layer masks to selectively adjust the different parts of the photo. You could take multipe exposures with different exposures, then combine them.

Mike,

I have been postponing reading about HDR but I guess now is the time. Anyway, so if I just setup exposure bracketing and combine them it should be fine? Or is it usually better to manually adjust the exposure once for the foreground and once for the sky? I do not own a tripod.

All the above questions in the context of a panorama.

Thanks.