How to solve this focus issue? (pictures)

zolito

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I am a beginner, trying to take a photo for my cactus plant with canon 600D, every time the camera focuses on certain points and the rest of the plant is blurred, tried several modes, manual and auto focus...etc

Here are the photos:

b6e7953811ceab719586ea0ea05f3339.jpg

5976843106bca39a1f3848ea6c19d8ad.jpg

e834f7e20b513f898d9459fb6b949604.jpg

c3a103f3128cc2ac64df89b16660d305.jpg

8f358dc1c0358d2ee162050f6d0eab40.jpg

Last question, what is the function of that button laid on the tripod camera footing, the bolt at the center is for tying the camera, the other one scratches the camera base while tying it.

639698075a6d9a3a694f044d0c1ab892.jpg

Thanks in advance.

Use a smaller aperture?

trying to take a photo for my cactus plant

I've tried taking pictures for plants, but they never appreciate it. :wink:

You need to read up on depth of field, this is the thing that detemines how much of a photo is in acceptably sharp focus in front of and behind your subject. It's not only got to do with aperture but also subject to camera distance.

I don't really know about your tripod but would guess that it is some kind of locator pin. What model/make is it?

As others have said, adjust your aperture for an appropriate depth of field. Read more here, and learn how to calculate it here. As for the pin, it is indeed a locator pin, used commonly with consumer grade video cameras (handy-cams).

On second thought, you should just put it on full auto-mode. The camera will make the best picture for you. :D

zolito; first; see if you can remove that extra bolt from the tripod plate.