How to take baby pictures

BananaRepublic

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
First off, Im at best an informed/journeyman amateur photographer.

I would like some advice on taking baby photos, for no other reason then the child is my nephew. Some ideas have been put forward and I'd like advice on getting the best images I can

I could get hold of lights from my club but in all honesty I have no real knowledge or till now much interest in them.

Images like the one posted in the link below or in general google baby images with plane background.

Raising a Baby With the Blood Type Diet - D'Adamo Personalized Living

Think "large" light source be it a large soft box or reflector the idea being to bring soft light on the child, without being in their face.

Young children all have an "ideal" time if day (early morning, after a nap, after they eaten, etc). The closer you are to that "ideal" time the better your chances.

one does not simply take baby pictures.

Depends on your nephew's age.

The type work I've done has been in Early Intervention and I would suggest ignoring most of the baby photography videos etc. if he's a newborn. Please use poses for photos that are the ways a newborn would be positioned in real life. Such as - head supported, and wrapped loosely to allow for movement; NOT propped up on elbows til older, NOT placed down in a bucket etc. til old enough to bear weight. Maybe let the parents do the positioning although if this is your nephew you might be fine doing that yourself.

The photo on the link posted looks fine because that baby seems to be able to support her/himself on hands/elbows on the tummy, and hold the head up and laugh at a soft blanket over the top of the head. If your nephew is at that age and stage that should be fun.