I apologize now but it's another gear advice post...

Jayson P

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.facebook.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I have been shooting for about 9 years now and to say its been on a budget putting it lightly. I have my AA in photography which means absolutely nothing in my job or really at all. I shoot landscapes, stars, cityscapes, inside old dilapidated buildings, cycling (indoor track cycling and road), some macro of bike parts and maybe some bugs, and the occasional portrait.

Current gear is as follows (So you know what I have worked with, going Nikon so it will be all new gear):
Canon T2i, Canon EFS 18-55mm (kit), Canon 50mm 1.8 (Refurb.... yes, one of the cheapest lenses as a refub...), Canon 50mm 2.5 Macro (used), Canon 50mm FD Macro (thrift shop). Notice a theme? Not a lot of flexibility and my kit lens was my main lens, went with what I could afford.
Occasionally when I could I'd borrow an L lens from my buddy to get a couple shots I had in my head but wanted to some better glass.

However, where I am at now is different. I'm looking at a Budget of about $7K and have researched my ass off and was hoping to get a little advice to button things up. My choices are based on reviews and research, not due to any particular brand....

Nikon D810 w/ Nikon 24-120 ($3500) ($2800 body only $3000 b+h battery pack kit)
Tamron 15-30mm ($1200) over Nikon 14-24mm ($1900). Everything I've read points to the 15-30.
Sigma 105mm Macro ($620) over Tamron SP 90mm Macro ($649)
Nikon SB 700 ($326)... will be used for portraits, some indoor shooting, but mostly off camera stuff. Could find something cheaper here.

That is the base of what I'm looking at but I need help with a few more pieces. Total so far $5646.

Nikon 35mm 1.8 ($527) or Sigma 35mm 1.4 ($869)
Nikon 85mm 1.8 ($477) or Sigma 85mm 1.4 ($899)