I just started photography and have a problem

dragnknite

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I have the Nikon D40x, and I am really interested in bird photography, but my camera seems to have a problem....at least, I have a problem understanding it: I wanted to test out all the modes and settings, but whenever I use anything higher than 1/80s shutter speed, I get a black photo...the only thing I can take a picture of at anything higher is a lightbulb! The same thing happens when I set the aperture to high!(Note: I have only tested this inside, with no flash, because when I use flash the shutter speed only goes up to 1/200s, which works)

Like I said, I am brand new to photography, and I'm probably doing something wrong. I really want to take pictures of humming birds, which are common here, but if I can't get the shutter speed (or aperture) to work right at a high setting, then they will just be a blur!

All Help is greatly appreciated! Thanks in advance!

Read your camera manual for one, and get the book "Understanding Exposure" by Bryan Peterson for two. You can't use the different modes (PSAM) until you understand how exposure works.

I have read my camera manual, thank you. Also, I wanted to ask here because after spending money on the camera, I didnt want to have to go out and buy a book. I was hoping someone could sum up a solution for me...rather than politley call me an idiot(if thats isn't what you were doing, than I'm sorry I read your post wrong)and rather than go out when I get the time, find the book, buy it, and read it.

I figured someone here might be nice enough to help, after all this section says in the decription that its a place to ask begginer questions.