I need help

Itzyu

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I have just negotiated an amazing deal on a Nikon D80 with a kit 18-135 Nikkor Lens
-70-300 Nikkor Lens and
-50mm 1.8aperature Nikkor Lens
and accessories, like a kick butt case, extra long life battery, pro tripod...
I have zero experience. I have been using point and shoot digitalis cameras, and I once took a high school photography class in 94'. How do I learn this camera? I just dropped 1000 on a camera and accessories that frankly... intimidates the heck out of me. I have seen the online classes, and my husband even downloaded a "From the eyes of a pro" tutorial. Will this be sufficient?

trial and error, takes a while to get the hang of it, but once the light goes off its all worth it....

just read every book you can get your hands on and then take some pics, post them on here, let us tear them apart, then go back out and try again.....rinse and repeat

thats what is working for me, learn something new everyday...

Did it come with the manual? If so read it so you understand the functions. Also dont use the preset shooting modes, the camera will blow out highlights in bright light in them, when in Matrix metering. I have the D80 myself and love it. But it takes a little tweaking to get it fully right.

As everyone else said, the more you shoot the more you will learn. I recently got a D40 and it took awhile to get used to. But there is so much to learn that getting used to it is just the beginning! Best of luck and read/watch as much as you can!

The D80 is an amazing camera. One thing I learned from *cough* Ken Rockwells websight, is that the D80 has a tendancy to overexpose in bright, sunny conditions. for outdoors, I do set my exposure compensation to -0.7EV. I think this will serve you well.