I need help...

Gr8outdrsmn

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I am new to DSLRs and I am trying to weigh all of the options of all of the models. I am narrowing my choices a good bit. I think that I am down to the Canon 30d and the Nikon D80. Honestly, why should I buy one over the other? If you have a different model to suggest, I will happily look at it. I am at an impass and really need your help. Thanks.

Oh yeah, the types of photography I plan on doing are: Sports, Nature/Wildlife, Events, and Portraits.

Any advice you guys can give me will be greatly appreciated. Thanks again.

I don't have any objective advice, and I hope that this isn't against forum rules, but I would recommend the Canon simply because I've been using Canons for the last 4 years and I have never had a problem with them, and I really like them. However, that said, my dad had a Nikon for over 20 years and it was still working when he sold it ... so, without having tested those two models personally, I really can't help much. Have you tried reading the reviews on dpreview.com?

Thanks for the honesty. Yes, I have been reading reviews on them on dpreview. Some push me one way, then I end up getting pulled back the other, haha.

my .02 is it is generally going to come down to user choice. The camera is just a box that exposes light, and most people are going to recommend the brand they use, b/c it works for them. For instance, I am quite happy with the Pentax line myself. Many will snub their nose at Pentax b/c they are not as popular as the "big two". Keep in mind that you are buying into a system and not just that camera. That is one reason that I went w/ Pentax, since they have not changed their mount, I can still find some great glass on Ebay or other sites for little of nothing. Many regard the some of the prime lenses of Pentax of the highest quality anywhere.