I need the use of shutter speed explained to me, for both pictures and video

DannyRodriguez

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
info: I'm 20 years old, I'm a filmmaker, I've only ever used rented equipment, I've just recently bought my first camera Canon 60D. I want to use it for both filming and for photography. I'm very interested in both mediums.

But I feel like I don't understand the different uses of shutter speed yet. Please note that I haven't received my camera yet so I can't experiment myself. Could someone refer me to a site, or explain themselves and then refer me somewhere for further reading about these topics:

1. What shutter speed do I use for which situation and light in video? and why?
2. What shutter speed do I use for which situation and light in photography? and why?

3. what are the effects of different shutter speeds in photography? and why?
4. What are the effects of different shutter speeds in video? and why?

I'd say those four topics just about cover what I'm wondering about. I may have follow up questions as we go along if there's something I've forgotten.

Please answer, I really genuinely do want to become good at photography, so that I can become a better filmmaker.

I honestly can't answer for video since I'm not 100% sure of shutter speed's effect in the video world of DSLRs.
For stills shots I'd strongly recommend reading "Understanding Exposure" by Bryan Peterson - that gives you an introduction into aperture, shutter speed and ISO as well as advice on how to select both correctly technically and artistically for different situations.

As a very rough overview - faster shutter speed = more motion stopping capabilities with the camera. You also have to use a shutter speed fast enough to overcome your own bodies motions as well when handholding.