I need to know, its all about fashion photography and lights. Help!

OGFoLife

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Im doing a photo shoot this weekend with an art piece and a female model.
I im ganna have her in a very elegant dress and makeup as-well as very outrages red eye shadow but i still don't know how to get her skin the way i see in magazines.
I also wanna know what is a good way to light her? i only have what i can find im a student
The art peace is hanging from the celling its white with a soft red light coming from the center of it and the room lights are tungsten.
I have a flash, that i have so much trouble using there are no automatic settings so I us it manually.

pleas help im dying to know it all

thanks

I'm just a noob, but I have always heard to use a lot of powder to make the skin appear smoother... Can't wait to hear everyone else's ideas!

We'll need to know a few things first. Such as what exactly do you have as far as equipment, can you get your flash off the camera and still use it, which post processing are you using, an example of the look you want- a link will do nicely- how large is the room, how tall is the ceiling, is there a window, if there is a window which direction does it face unless you will be shooting at night, remember that reflectors -scrims -flags -stands and backgrounds count as equipment and so on.

Sounds kind of complicated doesn't it.

Let us know and we'll see what we can do. ;)

Your not going to get a studio effect without proper lighting and the knowledge of how to use it, these model shoots are usually performed with thousands of pounds worth of equipment and a top pro photographer then the photographs/images are retouched professionally in photoshop, Its artwork, not something you can achieve with a flashgun and a couple of lightbulbs. Sorry, H