I thought about switching to Canon...

Does everyone here shoot everyday or only when they feel like it or have jobs?

I wish I could travel, it's a big goal of mine. But its just not possible right now.
I try to shoot everyday, but sometime life or weather gets in the way. But I'm a chef so I have my mornings free..

I wouldn't get rid of the Nikon gear you have but if you want to try Canon why would you have to get rid if it anyways, just add a Canon to your lineup.
I have a few Nikons, a couple Canons, a Sony, a Samsung, a couple Fujis, and a few other assorted bodies and lots of lenses for all.
I have never seen the sense in getting rid of gear to buy new gear. It's like books, just add more to the collection and buy bigger shelves.

Does everyone here shoot everyday or only when they feel like it or have jobs?

I wish I could travel, it's a big goal of mine. But its just not possible right now.

I'm definitely in the "when I have time" category, and really, what that means for me, is when I make time. I have a week plus off for the holiday, but before that I was working my full-time job, plus a evening teaching gig, plus grading and planning, plus being a dad.

When I was looking through LR to make my end-of-year photo book, I took almost no photos in October and November, but some of my favorites for the year are from those two months. I think it's probably because they were more purposeful...I had been envisioning a couple of ideas for weeks before I made the time to try to execute. Of my favorite shots from 2016, only 2 were further than 50 miles from my house.

You also live someplace that people travel specifically to go take photos. I know when I was up there in the spring I wish I had more time for photography and less time for drinking beer, haha. I'll probably bring my camera when I make my beer run next week to The Alchemist and to Hill Farmstead, and take the time to take the photos I see.