I'm a beginner: Help me decide my first lens

858Smith

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
i consider it my first lens b/c the only other lens i have is the kit lens (18-55mm or something like that). i've done my share of researching, believe you me, but still so undecided, so i will let YOU decide.

here is what i'm looking for:

i'm looking for some serious bokeh
it has to be under $300, which i know is very limited, but i want to start off small
i don't care if it's prime or not

let me know what you'd like me to buy ;)

THANKS!!!

ETA: i have a nikon d5100. duh.

Last edited:
Nikon or Canon. If you're after some serious Bokeh a great inexpensive option is the 50mm 1.8. Both brands make one.

Nikon or Canon. If you're after some serious Bokeh a great inexpensive option is the 50mm 1.8. Both brands make one.

crap. nikon. i added it to my original post lol

i do want serious bokeh, but i also wanna take good, crisp photos.

Get the nifty fifty.

Bokeh is not adjustable, but Depth-Of-Field (DoF) is.

The inexpensive 'nifty-fifty' both Nikon and Canon produce deliver poor quality bokeh, with the 5 bladed lens aperture usually visible.

I would suggest either the 50mm 1.8 or the 35mm 1.8 both will give you good bokeh. You can pick up a used 50mm for around 125$ in Canada the 35mm used around 180$. I would purchase used as long as you know what to look for to stretch your $$.

i consider it my first lens b/c the only other lens i have is the kit lens (18-55mm or something like that). i've done my share of researching, believe you me, but still so undecided, so i will let YOU decide.

here is what i'm looking for:

i'm looking for some serious bokeh
it has to be under $300, which i know is very limited, but i want to start off small
i don't care if it's prime or not

let me know what you'd like me to buy ;)

THANKS!!!

ETA: i have a nikon d5100. duh.

Nifty Fifty all the way.