I'm a stay at home MOm who LOVES to take Pictures! Some advice please

shibs51

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi Everyone, I just joined this forum. I have a canon Rebel XS, I am waiting on getting my new lens 50mmf/1.8 (which I am very excited about). The kind of pictures I love to do are kids and outdoor. My neighbour has a new born and I am going to practice on taking new born pictures. I have no lighting equipment or anything like that. How do I get that soft look to pictures. I guess what advice I would appreciate is should I use photoshop or photoshop elements (which is a little cheaper). I do plan on maybe taking photography as a hobby/ part time job! I am very new to this. I have been looking on You Tube for tips etc. I have a lot to learn about the settings, aperture and ISO etc. ARE there any helpful online tutorials? thanks so much
Siobhan

Why do all "Mom Shooters" get Canon's? Anyone else notice that?

Maybe it's just me.

OP. For right now. All you need is Elements. Full Photoshop will do nothing but overwhelm you and drain your wallet (err or purse). Lighting is key with newborn photography. It does not have to be anything extensive, sometimes as simple as a open window will do, but it does have to be right. Big and soft are the terms that come to mind when setting up for a newborn photo. Search here and also flickr for some great ideas.

Dug up some of my "old" ones of my now 7 month old. These were done in my kitchen with natural light from a glass door.

Alissa Newborn 171E by Matt Francosky, on Flickr

Alissa Newborn 177 by Matt Francosky, on Flickr

Alissa Newborn 191E by Matt Francosky, on Flickr

Also, welcome.

p!nK

The book "Understanding Exposure" is a great start and explains concepts and technique very well.

A large window and a piece of foam core or poster board as a reflector can go a long way for baby photos.