I'm new here from North Vancouver, Canada . . . Hello :)

seethroughlife

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
My number one burning question this morning is . . . what are your thoughts on the Canan 6D. I was surprised to find out that it only uses SD cards and kind of disappointed, probably mostly because i'm used to CF cards. Anyway, i'm trying to decide whether to go with the 6D or the 5D Mk III. To be honest, I am trying to be satisfied with the 6D for now, and then maybe upgrade in a year or so when I get my business up and running here. I worked as a pro photographer in Saskatoon, SK for a few years but then moved to North Vancouver about 4 years ago and am hopeful that I can get things going here now. I shoot mainly portraiture with available light and some band photography. So here goes . . . anybody have any sage advice for me? I'm all ears!

Last edited:
Hello, and welcome to TPF! :)

I've moved your thread over to the Canon forum, where you may get more specific answers to your questions. Good luck, and enjoy the forum!

Welcome aboard.

North Van. is a beautiful place to live, my Father lived there for a while.

From what I've heard, people have been somewhat disappointed with the 6D. Mostly that it's just 'cheap feeling' for the high price tag. The image quality is probably pretty good...but I don't think it's much of a 'professional' body. I guess it depends what you do and how you do it. It's easy to just say "go for the 5DmkIII" but it's your money.

I don't know if there is a difference in the weather sealing between the two...but living in that area, it might be something you'll want to look into.