Indoor Lighting advice

DunLaugh

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello I'm new here. I just recently got a better camera, and I realize that it would be a good idea for me to learn some techniques. So I want to learn how to take decent pictures of model faces. I don't have equipment since I am a beginner (just a camera and lamps), so I'm working with artificial light, and I just have a few questions.

If you're unable to use natural lighting, what light color is best when using a light source such as a lamp? (ex yellow, white)

When you want to make the shadows of the face softer, do you move the light source or the face away, or cover the light source with something thin so less light comes through?

Is it best to have one light source, or many? If more is better, where should my lamps be placed so that there aren't any shadows on the face? (ex two lamps opposite of each other facing the face)

If there are any helpful video tutorials for people who don't have equipment, please show me. ^^

This is some advice from a photographer that does not use lighting (except the sun) ... so bear with me:

Use your custom white balancing in the camera ... white is better.

Diffused light softens shadows ... covered light source.

The number of lights changes the light/shadows ... so it can vary.

[video]http://www.thephotoforum.com/forum/beyond-basics/225858-strobist-post-your-photos-setups.html[/video]

Hello I'm new here. I just recently got a better camera, and I realize that it would be a good idea for me to learn some techniques. So I want to learn how to take decent pictures of model faces. I don't have equipment since I am a beginner (just a camera and lamps), so I'm working with artificial light, and I just have a few questions.

If you're unable to use natural lighting, what light color is best when using a light source such as a lamp? (ex yellow, white)