Indoor, No Flash Photography question

scottjen

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am using a Fuji Finepix S2 pro, which I am happy with. Right now, my arsenal of lenses consists of a Quantaray 28-200mmD F/3.5, Quantaray 100-300mmD F/4.5, Nikkor AF Micro 105mm F/2.8, and Nikkor AF-S VR 70-200mm f/2.8G. We are travelling to Italy next month, and I plan to be taking a lot of indoor, no flash pictures. I am wondering if the lenses I have are of adequate aperture or do I really need to spring for a big gun like the Nikkor 135mm F/2.0D AF DC? The first three lenses I purchased with the camera from a retiring wedding photographer, so I am still learning all their capabilities. Any help would be appreciated!! Thanks!

Welcome to the forum.

The 70-200 F2.8 VR is a great lens and should let you shoot indoors fairly well.
I might recommend a fast prime though. Maybe something like a 50mm F1.4

Of course, your camera's capability to shoot at higher ISO will play a factor. It's a bit of an older camera, so I'm not sure how good/bad it is...but the key to getting usable shots at high ISO is to nail the exposure.

There is no piece of glass that can not be made faster with a good tripod and longer shutter speeds. Keep in mind that is a great idea for shooting the interior of an old church, but a lousy idea for moving subjects. Just food for thought, depending on what you plan on shooting.

I agree that the 105 and the 70-200 are perfect lenses for what you are trying to do. One thing you might want to consider though is leaving everything home except for the 70-200 and buying yourself a 17-55 2.8.

Mike,