Infrared

Status
Not open for further replies.

malis111

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm pretty new to photography. I saw some awesome infrared pictures. They looked sick. I googled it and totally got lost. I don't really understand what it is.

What exactly is it?
Is there anyway I can set my Nikon D40 up for infrared. (Might be a dumb question but I'm pretty new.)

It's easier than you might think. Get yourself an infrared filter from any camera shop, and a tripod (the exposures can take a while). The idea is, you filter out all visible light and expose the film, or sensor, to invisible light (infrared). Set up your shot and take a color one without the filter on. Put the filter on and take an identical shot. It's going to look crazy, dominated by one color (changes depending on your filter #) Don't worry. Go home, take the picture in photoshop, and desaturate it completely. For crazy effects, try layering it with the color picture you took (for starters). Hope this helps.

Here are a few links that you can look at:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Infrared_photography
http://www.outdooreyes.com/photo94.php3
http://maxmax.com/ir_techniques.htm
http://dpfwiw.com/ir.htm

However, since you probably don't want to read through pages of bewildering detail, here is the simple way to do it:

- Buy a Hoya R72 filter or equivalent
- Put it on your lens
- Set mode to Auto (without flash)
- Click

That's all you need to get started.

Unless you set your D40 to shoot b&w, you will get the familiar sort of red-orange-magenta photos (depending on your white balance), which can be turned into the great b&w or even false colour infrared pics that you see online. Black and white photos need minimal processing that you can do i guess with any free software.