"Intermediate" Lens Choices for a Nikon D3300?

JeffWard

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Just bought my first DSLR, a Nikon D3300. It came with the cheap 18-55 DX VR in the kit.

I'm looking to buy multiple lenses for specific needs. Budget is in the $150-400 range per lens (flexible). I'm a hobbyist, so $2000 lenses are out.

My photography needs/style in order:

1) Indoor, well lit (florescent) photos and video of exercises from a tripod (I'm a Personal Trainer, building a video portfolio for online clients).
2) Outdoor full sun beach/pool "Swimwear Shoot" photography, from close-ups to wider beach/waterfall/background shots. My wife is a physique athlete/fitness model. We pay hundreds of dollars every time we get pictures done. I want to learn to do them myself.
3) Bodybuilding show stage photos, indoors in a dark auditorium, shooting up to a spot-lit stage from 20-60ft.

I want to retain full auto-focus capability on my D3300, and I want to retain VR (I believe). Some of the less expensive lenses seem to drop these features.
I THINK I'm looking for a fixed Prime lens for video in studio?? (30? 50? 85?, for price, likely a 1.8)
I THINK I'm looking for a mid-level (price around $400+/-) telephoto 55-200, or 70-300 for the stage shots??

QUESTIONS:
I'm looking at Nikon/Tamron/Sigma lenses... Are there others I should consider?

Based on my needs, if you had to pick 2 more lenses for my next purchases... Which two and why? Options?

THANKS for any help from the experienced photographers!

JeffWard

The vr kit lens will do a lot of what you want. It be good to supplement it with some faster glass. I'd add a 35mm f1.8 and keep the kit, use for a while and figure out if anything else is needed.

It's easy for people to reccommend, but what one might think that they need, another may have no use for

Oh, I'd consider adding a yongnuo ttl flash also