into the deep end: my first request for feedback

SolveigAsvid

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello:

I'm an amateur but very enthusiastic photographer. I have been taking photographs as a hobby for under two years, and would really appreciate some feedback, critique, suggestions, advice, and so on, in order to help me improve my skills.

I have many photographs that I could share, but I'll start with only a few (as per the 'How to structure your posts to get critiques on your work' sticky I found in the Beginner's subforum). Okay, so, I'm using a Canon PowerShot SX500 IS. I was told to get this digital camera by a professional photographer (in response to my request for advice on a good but simple-to-use camera).

The following three photographs were taken with my Canon. No flash was used. I had my settings on Auto at the time. The first was taken in full sunlight; the second on an overcast day; the third on a dark winter day.

If any other information is needed, I have that....

002.JPG
11oct4.JPG
ice2.JPG

I feel these are three of my more successful early endeavours. I would love to get some feedback on them, however...criticisms, stuff I could do to improve my technique, and stuff I did right, and why.

Let me know if I included enough information to get started.

Solveig.

Last edited:
That's not a bad camera, especially if you don't want to pour a ton of money into a more advanced system.

My suggestions would be to: (1) work on composition and (2) move from auto into the other modes (i.e., aperture priority, shutter priority, and manual).

Some quick notes: