Investing in a new camera HELP!!

mjht76

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I am a budding photographer. I have been taking pictures for a few years now and I am looking at upgrading my digital camera. What I know I want is at least a 10x zoom, the ability to take 'burts' photos, (for high speed shots). I currently have an Olympus C700 and I do like it but It only has a 2.1 res. I take a lot of high speed shots and close ups. I have been asked to do school pictures for friends and family as I took my own last year and they looked very proffesional. Even blown up to 8 x 10. I have been looking at the Kodak 740. It is in my price range and seems like the camera I have been looking for. I would like to work slowly into taking event photography and portraits and I want a camera that will affordably give me that option until I can afford a high end model. I would apperciate any reviews of the Kodak 740 or suggestions for other cameras that would fit my needs. Thanks in advance

Recommendations really depend on how much you want to spend. Based on your comment that you want a 10x zoom, I'm going to assume you're looking for a high-end point&shoot vs a DSLR. I'm a big fan of waiting until you have the money to get a DSLR, personally. I got a KM dimage z6, and six months later, I really wish I would have waited for a Nikon d70 (especially since I now have a Nikon film body, and therefore Nikon glass). I recommend the z6 as far as image quality and zoom go (35-420mm in 35mm equivalent), but the autofocus sucks in low light and continuous shooting isn't that great. Plus you have to wade through menus to get to anything. I don't really have any experience with other point & shoots.