Is it against the law to have someone who doesn't understand english sign a contract?

Student

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
A contract in english of course. Such as a property release or a model release etc...? Or do I have to have my contracts translated every time? I have this great French model who wants to work with me and I don't have French release forms. I had her sign the english form and give me a photocopy of her passport. I suppose it's all legal even though it was done in english and she doesn't speak a single word of english? The contract was signed in Paris by the way.

That is a good question, although if I were to guess, I would say that it needs to be in the national language of the area that you are in.

If you are in the USA, then American language. If you are in France, then French.

Any legal types care to have a go at this?

^ "American language" is also known as "English" :p

I'm not a lawyer in France, but if you signed the contract in Paris, they may have a requirement that legal documents be in French.

By the way, it's usually not a matter of "breaking the law," per se, but being able to enforce your rights under the contract in court. You don't want the other person to be able to challenge the validity of the contract.

I would say if it is in an English speaking country it is down to the model to try and understand what she is signing

Last edited:
You give her the contract, you let her find somebody translate it for her. If she just signed it without reading it (like a lot of us do even if we know the language), then it is her own fault if she does not like the outcome per the contract.

So basically now that she has signed it in English she is bound to the contract no matter what, even if she claims she doesn't understand english? I also got her to give me a photocopy of her passport.