Is my pentex k1000 broken?

Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hello I've had my pentex k1000 for quite some time. My dad bought it for me for me. We bought it from a man at a flea market he said all we needed was a flash. I was under the that I could still use the camera in full light situations I've tried multiple times. All my pictures came out blurry or almost completely black. Im new to photography but I think something might be wrong.

You've had the camera for quite some time but are just now trying it, I assume?

Do the images look sharp in the viewfinder? Sounds like either a shutter problem, a light leak, or both.

I've had it awhile yes. But I have used it several times. The image through the view finder is clear and undisturbed. The shutter and manual buttons all work. The man I got it from gave me a newer compatible lens for it . I am just having a problem then I develop pictures they look distorted and almost black. I will be purchasing a flash to see if it might help and ill get a new roll of film and try again. Thank you for responding

It would probably help to know how you're setting the camera for the existing light conditions. Is the meter working? are you using that to tell you if you have the camera set to be able to get a proper exposure?

If pictures are dark that could be too small an aperture setting, and blurry pictures could mean a slow shutter speed. But that's just a guess not knowing how the camera was set.

Flash won't help - unless you are photographing indoors or at night.

Are you developing the film yourself? Because that is a whole other can of worms.