is the d80 and the 40d the same camera?

No, not really.

No, they are quite different, 40D being superior. The 40D is larger and has better image quality while the D80 is more compact and costs less. They are both good cameras but are slightly different. The 40D is halfway between the D80 and D300.

Take your pick - they are both great.

To a total beginner they might very well look like the same camera by different manufacturers. But as you dive deeper into photography and the custom settings of each camera, you start to find many differences which become more and more pronounced as your skill level matures.

Some of them are as simple as where the control wheels are located, others are more difficult to describe, such as color rendering and noise.

They may be 75% the same (both DSLRs with 10mp sensors, both are geared at the "prosumer audience", etc.), but the fine details of each camera are totally different. That's why people get so heated in their Canon vs. Nikon debates :)

BTW, I don't see one camera as being "better" than the other. That's a personal opinion, and totally depends on what you deem important in your gear.

ok I was just looking at them today and they looked like they had a lot of the same features. When do you think canon will release the 50d? if they ever do

ok I was just looking at them today and they looked like they had a lot of the same features. When do you think canon will release the 50d? if they ever do

February of 09... Mark it :)

No, but seriously, it seems they upgrade every 18 months or so, so that would be around February of 09.