Is there such a thing as a cheap backdrop?

v3nom

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
As my learning curve progresses i'm finding myself in situations where i could really use a small black backdrop, perhaps 1x1m. Im on a very tight budget and can't afford the high street prices just yet. Is there an alternative, a homemade solution? It is just cloth right?

I think you can use a sheet, but that might be to big..... I think plain fabric works, but I'm no expert:p

I think you can use a sheet, but that might be to big..... I think plain fabric works, but I'm no expert:p

I had a black pillow case that i tried but it gave some horrible results. I guess the type of material may be a factor. From what i gather 'hessian' is the cloth used in backdrops. i dont have any of that in my drawers thats for sure. :lol:

I shot my avatar by hanging a black blanket from a door. Pretty low budget. :D

Is air cheap enough? :lol:

If you light it right, you wouldn't even need a backdrop if you just want black. (Or white, I guess. It would just take more lights.)

Check out the fabric store and see what they have...

Sheets or linen... not too reflective... Poster board/paper.... Painted plywood scraps... Shower curtains...

There are many options of DIY backgrounds...

I use a black fabric that I got in the bargain bin at the local fabric store...

Thanks guys, think i'll go searching in the local material shop for some bargain fabric. ;)

I still don't get why high street specific backdrops are so expensive, are they super, super black with no reflectivity at all?

From what i gather 'hessian' is the cloth used in backdrops. :lol:
Muslin or canvas is the preferred, but really anything can be used if on a budget. I would suggest a medium grey. You have much more options at hand. You can turn it white, black, keep it grey or with gels turn it any color under the rainbow.