It is OK, I am a photographer, not a pervert...

There's most certainly a stereotype, but it's not particularly new. Women have long been dubbed "Caregivers," especially as it relates to children. Men, on the other hand, are supposed to be distant and unemotional. When a man takes an interest in being around children, it challenges that notion, and combined with the male reputation for being sexually motivated, it can disturb people.

A 40 year old man staring at a 15 year old girl would have been judged as "oogling" 20+ years ago, let alone today. There is certainly a hightened awareness of pedophilia and molestation today (which I won't deem as a bad thing), but that can be overcome in many cases with a calm, friendly demeanor, and an understanding of what "not to say" to parents or the children themselves.

Of course, the simplest solution would be not to take pictures of children unless commissioned to do so by the parents. This is the approach I take. Pass out your business card, post up flyers, etc. and wait for people to request your services. You look much less like a potential pervert and the parents are coming into it with a positive attitude.

I will have to say that I have been lucky and have never been challenged on this. My wife and I have 2 daughters (12 and 15) and I have been photographing them in public all their lives. More recently (within the past 5 or 6 years) during their sports or music events.

Because of that, I have worked my way into a little pocket to where my kids’ friends and their friends’ families have hired me for work. I have taken senior portraits, family portraits, birthday parties, cookouts, goofing around photos etc. for those friends. Team photos, action sports shots, band competitions and all of this because I was there at the event with my camera. And the thing is… all of those kids are girls.