Just another "what lens should I buy" post!

purpleroan

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi everyone! I recently purchased a Canon Rebel T5i, and am looking forward to a bit of equine photography come springtime and show season. I'm afraid the 18-55mm lens it came with just isn't going to cut it, and I'm curious if anyone here has suggestions for a good lens to purchase? I am a student on a budget, so cannot afford to spend a ton at the moment, but am also open to the idea of used products. I have seen the 50mm f/1.8 suggested for equine activities, as well as the Canon 55-250mm...any opinions of these/their suitability? I will mostly be shooting hunter/jumpers, maybe a bit of western but it's not my primary focus. It would also be nice to have a lens that's good for general portraits or shots in the field, that sort of thing. Thanks for your input!!

Well if your talking about outdoor photography in good lighting, a decent 70-300 mm 4.5-5.6 would probably do the job nicely. If your talking indoor photography where you'll need a large aperture zoom, well sadly there really aren't any options that are going to work well for that on a limited budget.

Well if your talking about outdoor photography in good lighting, a decent 70-300 mm 4.5-5.6 would probably do the job nicely. If your talking indoor photography where you'll need a large aperture zoom, well sadly there really aren't any options that are going to work well for that on a limited budget.