Just bought a Nikon FE, need some help

1n5ane

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I recently picked up a mint condition Nikon FE and, to say the least, I have no idea how to use it.

My only experience with film cameras are with the full manual/mechanical variety(Nikon FG/FM), I have no experience with these newer electromechanical hybrids. I've already wasted the better half of the morning fiddling with it to no avail.

The light meter doesn't seem to move off the bottom of the scale unless either the ISO is set rediculously high (3200), or the exposure compensation is set to -2 (At an ISO setting of 400). Even with the above settings, the light meter doesn't seem to work if the aperture is set to anything above F2.8. Just to be clear, the light meter does work, it just won't move off the bottom of the scale without adjusting the above settings.

I'm finding that unless I can get the light meter to move off the bottom of the scale, every time I hit the shutter release, the shutter fires but locks open. The mirror stays up and the shutter stays locked open, the only way to close the shutter is to either turn the camera off (flip the film advance lever down). When the light meter is working (ie. After I've tweaked all the settings to force it to work), there are absolutely no issues with any of the speeds. Manual speeds still work fine.

The body is a standard Nikon FE, the lens is Nikon Series E 50mm 1:1.8.

Is there something actually wrong with the camera or is this another "quirk" have yet to learn about?

I am wondering if the AI Coupler tab is up?I am at work right now can't answer much more now

I am wondering if the AI Coupler tab is up?I am at work right now can't answer much more now

The lever that flicks the AI tab on the lens stays down. It appears to be connected to the mirror.