elliottalb

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.myspace.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi everyone!

So my much anticipated Nikon D60 just came in and I'm loving it. I'm an absolute beginner to DSLRs and am a bit overwhelmed. I read through the instruction manual but things are still really fuzzy. I realize I shouldn't expect myself to know what can take years or decades to know, but I am excited to use my camera to it's full potential. Where do I start learning? I've considered buying the "Nikon d60 for dummies" book but I'm not sure if its worth it. What is the best way to learn? is it reading lots, taking tons of pictures and messing with settings until i learn what they do, or a combination of the two? I've been recomended "Understanding exposure" as well. Is this book worthwhile? any recomendations or help is greatly appreciated :)

I have that book and it does a pretty good job explaining the functions and how they all work. I'd recommend it. I've not read Understanding Exposure so I can't comment but it does come highly recommended on this forum by many. That alone should make it a good read and I may pick it up sometime.

Next just start shooting pictures... Just like you've been doing. That's also a good way to progress.

I have that book and it does a pretty good job explaining the functions and how they all work. I'd recommend it. I've not read Understanding Exposure so I can't comment but it does come highly recommended on this forum by many. That alone should make it a good read and I may pick it up sometime.

Next just start shooting pictures... Just like you've been doing. That's also a good way to progress.

Awesome! Thank you so very much for your input. I'm definatly going to pick up a book tomorrow. Can anyone tell me if the "D60 for dummies" book or the "understanding exposure" book is best for a first read? I'd hate to get a book that's filled with concepts I don't understand yet. Thank you again!