Landscape guy need help/critique with portraits

MikeFlorendo

TPF Supporters
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am a landscape guy but people keep asking me to do portraits. I said I need to work on it first so I started shooting people a week ago. Need critique and help. They look OK to me but I want them to look great not ok. Any help would be appreciated. Let me know if I need to go back to landscapes. :)

#1 needs fill light and less centered, anything else?
Jess10.jpg

#2 Used a reflector but too much?

Angie_Nick_Casper_park1.jpg

#3 Too blown out and centered?

Angie.jpg

#4 Needs fill light.

Jess.jpg

Thanks for any help.

Last edited:
#1 watch the background The big dark rock is kind of stealing my eye.

#2 maybe a bit too much, also ask the young man to tuck in the shirt tail

#3 too much landscape and not enough model

#4 darned near perfect, except for needing fill as you wrote watch how close you crop the bottom

#1-the warning sign on the rocks is distracting, and the deep,dark blue sky is a wee bit too dark I think. The sky-scape is very strong...but her body positioning is also dramatic. I think this one needs a bit of a re-work in post to make it stronger, which I think can be done by downplaying the sky part a bit, and lightening her up a bit.
#2-I really like the interpersonal dynamic you show in this shot. His missing foot hurts a little bit. The reflector fill is very strong, and the people are very warm-toned, but the background is coolish, which looks a bit 'manipulated'. Still, again, I like the interpersonal relationship this shows, which the subjects ought to like also.
#3-Yeah, your assessment is accurate--too centered, too blown out, just not a good frame. The lighting at the scene is not that good for her. She also looks out of focus, especially on her leg/foot.