Laptop for photographers

NYSTalents

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am an advanced amateur photographer looking purchasing a laptop using on all my indoor and outdoor photo shoting, as I shot on the same time picture appear on the laptop monitor to check the quality of each shot and save. What type Laptop? Is Dell a good choice? Which hardware? Which Software?

Thank you

I am an advanced amateur photographer looking purchasing a laptop using on all my indoor and outdoor photo shoting, as I shot on the same time picture appear on the laptop monitor to check the quality of each shot and save. What type Laptop? Is Dell a good choice? Which hardware? Which Software?

Thank you

I use a Dell Latitude 830 with the WUXGA+ monitor option running XP Pro. I like it. I'd have preferred a Mac, but my work bought it for me and it's a good machine. I have 2GB of RAM and a DVD burner and it does fine with PS CS2.

Thank you

I use a Gateway MX6920 with 2 GB ram and a Centrino DUO Core processor running Windows XP and CS3. Works great for me.

buy a mac. hardly ever EVER crash and viruses are practically a non-issue (natively)

WOW Lenovo really put some thought into that baby!!!!!! But thats allot of cha ching for a laptop and im sure that price is way bottom of the line.

hmm £3000 sep 08 -- knock that down to £1500 sep 09 :)
affordable, and photo editing does only need a set amount of processing and graphics power - space is the key thing that really is needed -- so one does not need to aim for the upper market version to retain usability.

Either Macbook or Macbook Pro.

And Lightroom is probably the best choice for software.