Legal Ramifications?

JWCPhoto

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Before prom each year the local highschool meets at the courthouse and everyone is out taking pictures (moms and dads). I thought about being there and shoot semi formal pictures. I would give business cards with a link to a password protected viewing gallery in order for someone to purchase prints. Not quite sure what legal aspects I should be cautious about. Where does model release forms come into play? I'm sure some will be under 18?

My first thread.

Thanks for your time.

Without a location, it's impossible to say, however, by the tone of your post, I'll assume the USA. My OPINION (I'm not a lawyer, I don't play one on television, and I don't live in the US) is that since this is being done in a public place, there is nothing wrong with taking the pictures. I don't believe you would have any need for any sort of release UNLESS you intended to use the pictures for your own purposes (ie portfolio, etc). I also don't BELIEVE that age is a factor here, HOWEVER, an Internet forum is not the best place for legal advice. Consult a practicing attorney in your area for a definitive answer.

Definitely check with an attorney. It isn't that much for an hour of their time over the phone. Also, you may need a vender permit to be able to sell anything. Check with the courthouse to see if there is any paperwork you need or fees to pay.

Definitely check with an attorney. It isn't that much for an hour of their time over the phone. Also, you may need a vender permit to be able to sell anything. Check with the courthouse to see if there is any paperwork you need or fees to pay.
Excellent point Christina! A lot of cities do like to gouge you for this sort of thing.