Lens advice for Nikon

ljcj29

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am a complete amateur photog and need some advice. I am going on a trip and must travel light but will be taking pix at a wedding as well as some sight-seeing photos. I own a Nikon D70 w/ 50mm 1.8 lens and no external flash. I am looking at buying one of these lenses as the one I'd love to buy (Nikkor 18-200mm VR) is out of my price range. What are your thoughts and recommendations on these? Also for the Sigmas, is it worth spending the extra $ for the 250mm compared to the 200mm?

Sigma 18-250mm f/3.5-6.3 DC OS HSM
Sigma 18-200mm f/3.5-6.3 DC OS
Tamron 18-200mm f/3.5-6.3 XR Di II LD Macro

Thanks

I dont honestly know much about any of them. I know they all show typical distortion and have miserable low-light performance. However, the 18-250 Sigma (HSM) and Tamron seem to be okay. Id say there will be no way you can shoot a wedding correctly with these lenses and no external flash unless the wedding is outdoors. Id look for some direct comparisons..Im sure there are some out there for the top two, bottom two, and probably all three. Id save the money and get something with better low-light performance.

Mark

Id say there will be no way you can shoot a wedding correctly with these lenses and no external flash unless the wedding is outdoors.
Mark

Great thanks....Wedding is outdoors. I should have mentioned that earlier. ;) Maybe I should look into getting a flash as well.

Would love to still hear more thoughts. Any advice will help.

I would cross off the 18-250. The more range you throw into a single lens the more you have to compromise. I would then just compare reviews on the Sigma and Tamron 18-200's to make your final decision.

Are you the primary photographer at the wedding or are you just going to be taking some snapshots for a friend or relative in addition to a professional?