Lens for photographing children

abee

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm a beginner shooting with a Nikon D3200. Currently I have the kit 18-55mm lens and a 50mm 1.8. I'm looking for another lens that will allow me to photograph toddlers and children and produce sharp photos. I have done several cake smash and portraits in a home studio setup of toddlers with my 50mm and although they look great, they are just not at the level of sharpness that I'm looking for. Should I be thinking of a different lens? Or a different body? I was using a tripod and 2 soft box lights. Any advice on a lens to look in to? Would like to keep it under $1000. Thank you.

What settings were you using on the 50? Could be you need to stop down a bit to get a little more depth of field

The 50 1.8 is super sharp. Even wide open. If you want super, nothing in Nikon's line surpasses the 60 2.8. Just my .02. Sharpness is over rated.

I'm not familiar with Nikon lenses, but most 50 1.8 lenses are pretty sharp. Were you shooting wide open?

Could you post a problem photo with the EXIF info?

I've included a sample photo. I believe I was at ISO 800 (it was cloudy) and aperture at 2.8. I used a grey card to set my white balance.

Attachments

• image.jpeg
    image.jpeg
    1.7 MB · Views: 190
I printed the photo and it's just not as crisp as I would like

Lolololol. What, mate? That's plenty sharp. Lololol

It might be the grain that you're getting at ISO 800 that's bothering you. Do you have the same problem at other ISO's?