Lens Help

Ryanfru

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Ok, I am kind of new to photography and I am wondering if I can get some assistance on lens choices. I am looking for lenses that I can shoot landscapes(wide angle would be mucho appreciated), portraits, and telephoto type stuff with. I will be moving up from my Panasonic DMC-FZ18 to the Rebel XTi if that matters too much in lens decisions.

Thank you :thumbup:

Welcome aboard.

What is your budget? Lenses range from $70 to $12,000.

Welcome aboard.

What is your budget? Lenses range from $70 to $12,000.
Ok yeah lol I should of included that. I don't wanna have to pay more than 250-300 for a lens considering I'm a broke college student.

You won't get much for $300, in terms of quality lenses but you could probably put together a decent beginner's kit. I think the lens that usually comes with the Rebel cameras is the 18-55mm or maybe even the 18-55mm IS. This would be a good lens to start with. For a telephoto, the cheapest ones are the 75-300mm group. Canon has a couple and you can save a bit by going with a similar lens from Tamron or Sigma. That should be approximately $200. I would also suggest adding the 50mm F1.8 because it's large maximum aperture is something that either of those other lenses lacks. This one should be less than $100.

Yeah I noticed my budget wasn't going to cut it so new question. What lenses are a must if I could just choose 1 or 2. I'll pay up to 400-550 for each.

What do you want to do with the lenses?
That is the starting point - landscape, portrats, sports, wildlife, planes - there are a lot of subjects with different requirements for each. A wildlifer would consider a good 300mm prime a must have, whilst a birder a 500mm.

start by thinking of the use for the lens then work out if its the lens for you