Lens Hood and UV Protection Filter?

a good debate....lol...thanks for the info mates...

I agree a UV filter is a necessity for front element protection. I've gone through several filters with no damage to the lens. Especially at rally races for example. I'll often leave a race with several scratches to the filter that are unrepairable and the lens itself is fine.

Obviously if you're shooting product photography in your home you shouldn't need additional protection. It all depends on what environment you're in. Also... there are several in-depth studies done to show that even the cheapest filters don't affect image quality. I know a lot of people will argue against this point but whatever. Some filters may increase flare a bit but I've never experienced this. If I can shoot through a screen door without it affecting image quality than a piece of glass shouldn't be any worse.

By the sounds of it - we're the only two who think this way...LoL. Granted, I'm a photography newb and my opinion doesn't count. That makes you all alone ..... lol.

Cheers!
- Dan

Dan, it isn't that your opinion doesn't count, but other people are voicing their opinions too. A UV filter might seem like it will protect your lens from dirt and debris and essentially it will because there is another layer of separation. Like, KmH mentioned though, unless you are buying top of the line those filters will most likely be cheaply made and have poor optical quality. This means that there is another piece of glass that is degrading the image that you are trying to capture. If you had something strike the lens hard enough to break the filter then there is no guarantee that the actual lens wont be damaged either. I have seen numerous people that have complained that broken pieces of the filter actually caused damage to the lens. I would prefer to buy a useful filter, like a circular polarizing filter and take my chances that I can count on myself to resonably protect my camera and lens.