Lens questions: rokinon cine vs. canon, zoom vs. prime

jackalbins

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I am an amateur filmmaker using a 5D Mark III and looking to complete my lens kit. I've done extensive research both in forums and on lens review sites (dxomark, photozone, lenstip, the digital picture, etc.) but would like more specific thoughts regarding the options I'm considering.

Presently I own the Canon EF 24-105 f/4 L IS and the EF 50 f/1.4 USM.

Before beginning my research, my plan was to purchase a Rokinon cine kit (14mm, 24mm, 35mm, 85mm) since I was already aware of their affordability, quality, and specialized construction for shooting video. After looking at comparisons with other lenses and reading mixed reviews, I've started to think twice. In particular, I'm considering
1) the Canon EF 35mm f/2 IS over the Rokinon 35mm,
2) the Tokina AT-X 16-28mm f/2.8 PRO FX to cover the 14mm and 24mm Rokinons, and
3) foregoing the 85mm Rokinon in favor of one of the long Canon zooms, probably the EF 70-200 f/4L IS

While my budget is far from unlimited, I do have some flexibility - and this combination wouldn't add too much to my original Rokinon kit plan.

I was hoping for some feedback on the soundness of my proposed substitutions for cinematic purposes, especially with regard to using zooms instead of primes and foregoing the useful "cine" features of the Rokinons.

Since most of the reviews and comparisons of DSLR lenses seem to be undertaken with a view to still photography, I was also wondering whether it's safe to extrapolate their findings to videography.

Any thoughts on these questions or other general recommendations would be greatly appreciated.

The big question is are you using a rig or not.