Lens upgrade assistance??

Ween

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hello!
I've had my Nikon D60 camera for nearly... 5 years with the kit lens; AF-S DX Nikkor 18-55mm. So I think it's time to update this little baby! I'm not a pro, I still consider myself a beginner photographer since I have been shooting on and off since high school. I have been trying to read reviews on different lenses I have had my eye on. I still get a little confused on the differences between them. Like I said, I am not a pro at all so it has been difficult for me to take the plunge. Here are a few lenses that have caught my eye:

AF-S DX Nikkor 35mm f/1.8G
Nikon 55-200mm Digital Telephoto Zoom Lens- f/4-5.6G
AF-S DX Micro-Nikkor 40mm f/2.8G

As you can see, my price ranges are kind of the same, $200-300 (I don't want to break the bank) and I guess my main question would be; would any of these be great for close up/portrait photography? I don't necessarily need to pick one from the three I listed, it was just some of the lenses I came across on. If you believe there is a different lens that is more suitable for me, please I'd love to hear it. But I'm to the point where it is hard for me to tell the difference between a micro and a telephoto. I hope someone can expand my knowledge and help me understand better. Thank you all for your time and any feedback will be greatly appreciated!

A 'micro' lens is one that allows you to focus very very closely, to the point of having the image of the object on the sensor rendered the same size as the object itself. These are available in various focal lengths. In simple terms a telephoto lens is one whose focal length is longer than normal. Normal is often meant to mean a lens whose focal length is near to the diagonal distance of your sensor. On your crop sensor camera the 35mm lens would be considered the 'normal', anything significantly shorter is 'wide' and anything significantly longer is 'telephoto'.